Skip Navigation


UNL Wins Student Chapter Award at NAHB Competition


The UNL chapter of the National Association of Home Builders receives the Outstanding Student Chapter Award at the national competition in Orlando, Fla.

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln chapter of the National Association of Home Builders won the 2006 Outstanding Student Chapter Award at the NAHB Student Management Competition held Feb. 7-10 in Orlando, Fla. Nearly 170 teams were eligible for the honor.        

Several members also won individual awards. Senior Nichole Karr of Rolla, Mo., received the Outstanding Student Award. Junior Nick Torgusson of Detroit Lakes, Minn., won the $5,000 National Housing Endowment Scholarship. In addition, UNL's residential construction team placed fifth out of 33 teams.

Charles Berryman, associate professor of construction management, is the chapter adviser. The club's local and national sponsors are the Home Builders of Lincoln and the Ridgid Tool Company.           

Followed is a list of UNL chapter members by hometown.

Aurora: Tyler Jensen
Beatrice: Chad Neukirch
Bellevue: Ben Elliot
Blue Hill: Bret Alber
Ceresco: Tanner Almery
Columbus: Nate Korger
Grand Island: Bret Mader
Howells: Brian Semerad
Lincoln: Mike Earley, Jenna Holt, Andrew Schellpeper, Jeff Webert
Malcolm: Alice Berryman
Omaha: Brad Cory, Jaymes Kralicek, Kyle Schlueter, Daniel Troutman
Seward: Jason Villalobos
Waverly: Jess Sundeen, Joel Sundeen
York: Audrey Burns
Yutan : Brian Kroksh, Corey Wollen

Shelby, Iowa: Justin Boeck
Treynor, Iowa: Joe Sornson
Wichita, Kan.: Chris Williams
Detroit Lakes, Minn.: Nick Torgusson
Jackson, Mo.: Ben McMillan
Rolla, Mo.: Nichole Karr
Las Cruces, N.M.: Dan Barrett
South Falls, S.D.: Jesse Deffenbaugh


Bookmark and Share RSS feed