

2023 Employee Awards

FACULTY TEACHING AWARDS

Henry Y. Kleinkauf Family Distinguished New Faculty Teaching Award

General teaching award open to the rank of assistant professor; \$2,500 each

• **Ryan Pedrigi**, Robert F. and Myrna L. Krohn Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering

Holling Family Distinguished Senior Faculty Teaching Award

General teaching award open to the ranks of associate professor and professor; \$2,500 each

• Lisong Xu, Professor, School of Computing

Holling Family Distinguished Teaching Award for Excellence in Inclusive Teaching

General teaching award open to all faculty ranks; \$2,500 each

• Mohammad Rashedul Hasan, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Holling Family Distinguished Teaching/Advising/Mentoring Award

Recognizes faculty for effectiveness as an adviser and mentor, as well as effectiveness as a classroom teacher; chosen by eSAB/NESCO, \$2,500 each

- Mark Bauer, Professor of Practice, Electrical and Computer Engineering
- **Brandon Kreiling**, Assistant Professor of Practice, Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction

Holling Family Master Teacher Award/UNL University-Wide Teaching Award

General teaching award open to all faculty ranks; \$2,500 each

- Shudipto Dishari, Associate Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
- **Stuart Bernstein**, Associate Professor, Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction



UNO Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Award

General teaching award open to all faculty ranks; recipient is also recognized at the UNO Faculty and Staff Recognition Reception; \$2,000 from UNO and \$500 from COE

• Jongwan Eun, Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

FACULTY RESEARCH AWARDS

College Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award

Recognizes individuals for activities associated with investigation/experimentation aimed at the discovery and/or interpretation of facts, as well as the development of creative works or new products; \$2,500 each

- Jian Wang, Wilmer J. and Sally L. Hergenrader Presidential Chair of Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering
- Liyan Qu, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Keegan Moore, Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Materials Engineering

Edgerton Innovation Award

Research award open to the rank of assistant professor (tenure track); \$2,500 (personal prize) / \$10,000 (unrestricted research)

• Wei Bao, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

FACULTY SERVICE AWARDS

College of Engineering Faculty Service Award

Recognizes outstanding individuals for service to their department, college and university, as well as to their profession and community; \$2,500 each

- **Stuart Bernstein**, Associate Professor, Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction
- **Emmeline Watson**, Assistant Professor of Practice, Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction

FACULTY ENGAGEMENT AWARDS

College Faculty Engagement Award

Recognizes outstanding accomplishments in "engagement in research, teaching and/or service" related to work with an external partner; \$2,500 each

• George Hunt, Associate Professor of Practice, Civil and Environmental Engineering

COLLEGE STAFF AWARDS

Celebrates staff members in the College of Engineering for exemplary performance towards achieving the vision and mission of the college in the categories including: leadership, service to students, service to faculty and staff, engagement, Complete Engineer[®], and outstanding performance; \$2,500 each

Leadership

• Jeff Beavers, Director of Recruitment & Outreach, Engineering Student Service

Service to Students

• Eric Einspahr, Retention & Student Success Coordinator, Engineering Student Service

Service to Faculty and Staff

- Amie Sommers, Senior STEM Education Specialist, Engineering and Computing Education Core
- Carlos Francis, Laboratory Manager, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Outstanding Performance

- Amy Horvath, Business Manager I, Business Office
- Mikayla Cruickshank, Administrator Coordinator, Dean's Office