Nebraska Engineering Fall, 2006
Main Menu
From the Dean
Front and  Center
After Hours
Send Us News
Back Next

Student Kudos


Michelle Vigeant, a Ph.D. student in architectural engineering, received a prestigious three-year fellowship from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada. Vigeant is researching room acoustics computer modeling software that will help her study the effect of sound source characteristics. The fellowship will cover Vigeant’s living expenses and travel to conferences at which she will present her research.

Meghan Lyons, of Brookings, S.D., received the Al and Dorothy Schewe Leadership Award, given to a student who demonstrates outstanding leadership and involvement in the college and the university.

Winners of the 2006 O.J. Ferguson Outstanding Leadership awards, given to students who demonstrate outstanding leadership in the college, were Megan Krause of Omaha, sophomore, biological systems engineering; Erica Levorson of Overland Park, Kan., junior, biological systems engineering; and Tim Carmann of Grand Island, senior, chemical engineering.

The Sigma Tau Chapter of Tau Beta Phi, the engineering honor society, awarded scholarships to: Bob Buckley, interdisciplinary studies; Brian Irish, electrical engineering; Megan Krause, biological systems engineering; Erica Levorson, biological systems engineering; Mark Pohl, industrial engineering; Seth Springer, electrical engineering; and Shane Unick, mechanical engineering.

The Departmental Outstanding Senior Awards are given annually to recognize students who have been outstanding in academics, research, student involvement and volunteer service. The 2006 recipients were: Agricultural Engineering—Scott Albrecht; Architectural Engineering—John Bynum; Biological Systems Engineering—Amy Dimick; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering— Tim Carmann; Civil Engineering— Amanda Larsen, Diane Rossbach and Daniel Samson; Computer and Electronics Engineering—Jason Jewell; Computer Science and Engineering—David Anthony; Construction Management—Anne Arant; Construction Systems—Brian Iversen; Electrical Engineering— Gregory Dick; Industrial and Management Systems Engineering—Scarlett Herring, Mark Pohl and Alex Sheehan; and Mechanical Engineering—Scott Kratzer and Brian Roehrs.

Four College of Engineering juniors were semifinalists for the UNL Parents Association Outstanding Student Leadership awards: Aimee Albro, industrial engineering; Bryce Dickmeyer, mechanical engineering; Brett Lauritsen, civil engineering; and Jason Lowe, mechanical engineering.

Twelve engineering students were honored at the Student-Athlete Academic Recognition Banquet. A bronze medallion was awarded to students with grade-point averages of 3.0 to 3.499; a silver medallion was awarded to students with GPAs of 3.5 to 3.749; and a gold medallion was awarded to students with GPAs of 3.75 or higher. Brandon Buckman, civil engineering, bronze; Pamela Castillejos, industrial engineering, bronze; Andy Christensen, construction management, bronze; Bryce Dickmeyer, mechanical engineering, gold; Tommy Donlin, mechanical engineering, silver; Nicole Kadyszewski, construction management, silver; Alex King, chemical engineering, silver; Eric Lueshen, chemical engineering, bronze; Andrew Nelson, electrical engineering, bronze; Jose Rivera, industrial engineering, bronze; Tyler Wortman, mechanical engineering, gold; Issar Yazhbin, biological systems engineering, gold.

Nicholas Anderson of Papillion and Tanner Augustin of Juniata, biological systems engineering, and Amanda Larsen of Sioux Falls, S.D., civil engineering, were named Chancellor’s Scholars during the University Scholars Convocation April 23. Chancellor’s Scholars are graduating seniors with perfect 4.0 grade-point averages.

Andrew Kousgaard, a senior in construction management, received the Nebraska Alumni Association’s 2006 Vann Leadership Award, established by the late Howard Vann and his wife, Judy. Kousgaard, who is an AFROTC cadet, has been involved with the New Orleans community cleanup and is active in Campus Crusade for Christ and booster club stadium security and cleanup.

UNL’s Mortar Board honor society inducted three engineering students into the Black Masque Chapter April 1: Bryce Dickmeyer of Fremont, mechanical engineering; Jenna Rihanek of Lincoln, civil engineering and architecture; and Lauren Tietgen of Ralston, industrial engineering. Mortar Board annually selects 20 members based on scholarship, leadership and service to the university and the community.

Laura Podany, a junior biological systems engineering major from Clarkson, was elected to serve as the 2006-07 College of Engineering senator in the Association of Students of the University of Nebraska.

The National Association of Home Builders Commercial Construction Team placed in the top seven at the NAHB national conference.