Nebraska Engineering Fall, 2006
Main Menu
From the Dean
Front and  Center
After Hours
Send Us News
Back Next

Class Notes

Abbas K. Mohaddes, BSCE ’79, MS CIVE ’82, was elected to the Nebraska Alumni Association board of directors. His term is three years.

Michael Dreesen, BS CEEN ’01, is a component design engineer with Intel Corp. Dreesen specializes in SRAM design and recently finished work on the dual-core Itanium II microprocessor code named Montecito. He also was co-author of a paper, “The Asynchronous 24MB On-Chip Level-3 Cache for a Dual-Core Itanium- Family Processor,” which was published in the 2005 ISSCC Digest of Technical Papers. Dreesen can be reached at michael.

Anthony Williams, BSIE ’02, MSIE ’04, was selected as a National Science Foundation GK-12 Graduate Fellow for the 2006-07 academic year. Williams, who is working toward his Ph.D. at the University of Central Florida, will receive a tuition waiver and the cost of his matriculation fees.

Fahid Rabah, Ph.D. EE ’04, had his paper “Biofilm and biomass characteristics in high-performance fluidizied-bed biofilm reactors” published in the journal Water Research, the most widely cited environmental engineering journal in the world. His article was selected thirteenth of 25 articles.

Erica Bowden Ryherd, Ph.D. AE ’06, received a 2006-07 F.V. Hunt Postdoctoral Research Fellowship to undertake a research program in the Department of Environmental Medicine at the Sahlgrenska Academy of Göteborg University. The Hunt fellowship is given to someone who has recently received his or her doctorate or will receive the degree during the fellowship year. The recipient is an individual who, through personal qualifications and a proposed research topic, is judged to exhibit the highest potential for benefiting any aspect of the science of sound and promoting its usefulness to society. Bowden Ryherd and Steven Ryherd, MAE ’06, were married June 3.