Four engineering grad students receive Eisenhower Fellowships

Four engineering grad students receive Eisenhower Fellowships

March 10, 2023 - Four Nebraska Engineering graduate students - Weston Kelley, Aaron Lechtenberger, Andrew Loken, and Russell Masterson - have each been selected to receive a Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship from the U.S. Department of Transportation for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Loken is a doctoral student in civil engineering, Lechtenberger and Masterson are master's students in civil engineering, and Kelley is a master's student in mechanical engineering and applied mechanics. Loken was also awarded an Eisenhower Fellowship for the 2021-2022 academic year.

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) provides up to a $10,000 award that helps fund a graduate student's research. The program requires recipients to present their research at the Transportation Research Board (TRB) annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

These four awards increased the college's total to 17 Eisenhower Fellowships that have been awarded to 16 College of Engineering students since 2010 and is the most awarded to Nebraska students in a single academic year.

The DDETFP provides fellowships to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines. This program advances the transportation workforce by helping attract the nation's brightest minds to the field of transportation, encouraging future transportation professionals to seek advanced degrees, and helping retain top talent in the U.S. transportation industry.

From its initial support of graduate research fellowships in 1983 to the current program's inception in the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991, the DDETFP has awarded over $50 million to graduate students in the transportation industry. From this investment, fellows have pushed for innovative change in multimodal areas from highway infrastructure to aviation to maritime, making the industry more effective and efficient. Fellows pursue careers in academia, private industry, and public service, serving as leaders across the nation.

Applications for the DDETFP 2023-24 Fellowships are due by April 7. More information can be found on the application portal website.


Cody Stolle (2010-2011)

Cale Stolle (2012-2013)

Tiffany Treviño (2017-2018)

Brock Schroder (2018-2019)

Ricardo Jacome (2018-2021)

Ryan Bickhaus (2018-2021)

Michael Sweigard (2019-2020)

Kellon Ronspies (2019-2020)

Nathan Dowler (2020-2021)

Luis Rodriguez (2020-2021)

Andy Loken (2020-2021, 2022-2023)

Riley Ruskamp (2021-2022)

Aaron Lechtenberger (2022-2023)

Russell Masterson (2022-2023)

Weston Kelley (2022-2023)