Research Funding Awards

Research Funding Awards

Vitaly Alexandrov

Dr. Vitaly Alexandrov

1. American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund: "Towards Atomistic Understanding of CO2 Reduction to Fuels over Carbon-Based Metal-Free Electrocatalysts,"   ($110,000); PI 

Vitaly Alexandrov has been awarded a grant from the American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund (ACS PRF) to work on catalytic CO2 conversion.  This Doctoral New Investigator (DNI) grant supports a two-year project that will help develop a detailed picture of atomic-scale mechanisms of CO2 reduction over carbon-based metal-free electrocatalysts utilizing quantum molecular dynamics simulations. The obtained fundamental knowledge will contribute to the development of more efficient and selective catalysts for CO2 conversion reactions.

2) Nebraska EPSCoR FIRST Award (2017): "Understanding Solution and Interfacial Electrochemistry for High-Performance Redox Flow Batteries from First-Principles" ($25,000; 1 year); PI

3) NSF MRSEC Seed Grant (2016-2017): “Understanding Electronic, Transport and Defect Properties of Low-Dimensional Ferroelectric Systems from First-Principles” ($100,500; 2 years); PI


Dr. Shudipto Dishari

1.       Nebraska EPSCoR First award (2017): “Addressing the Critical Concerns of Confined Ionomeric Systems and Advanced Fluorescence Imaging of Ionic Distribution” ( $25,000, 1 yr)

Role: PI

2.       Research Council Faculty Seed Grant (2016): “Functional Nanoscale Materials Inspired by Plant Cell Walls for Energy Applications” ($10,000, 1 yr)

Role: PI

Dr. Rajib Saha

1. Development of a Succinic Acid Production Process Using Corn Fiber, funded by Nebraska Corn Board ($85,148 for first year and $85,148 for the second year if it gets renewed

    PI: Mark Wilkins, Biosystems Engineering 
    Co-PI: Rajib Saha, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 
2. Development of a systems-level pangenome metabolic model for analysis of Staphylococcus aureus physiology, funded by Nebraska Systems Science Initiative ($150,000 for two years)
    PI: Kenneth Bayles, Pathology and Microbiology, UNMC 
    Co-PI: Rajib Saha, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering