AE Awards Banquet highlights year of successes

AE Awards Banquet highlights year of successes

Calendar Icon Mar 08, 2016          RSS Feed RSS

UNL's Architectural Engineering Awards Banquet was March 3 in Omaha.
UNL's Architectural Engineering Awards Banquet was March 3 in Omaha.
A year of unparalleled successes was reason to celebrate as Nebraska Engineering students, alumni and faculty were honored at the annual Architectural Engineering Awards Banquet on Thursday, March 3 in Omaha.

A National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) Engineering Award, introduced by Dean Timothy Wei and presented by NCEES President Mike Conzett and Nebraska Board of Engineers and Architects member Roger Helgoth, went to a team of UNL student engineers. This NCEES award, which comes with a $7,500 prize, is for connecting professional practice and education, and was one of six given to engineering capstone courses across the U.S.

For the contest, teams designed a vertical farm as part of a 2015 Architectural Engineering Institute (AEI) design contest.

The UNL team – Brianna Brass, Kate Fickle, Alycia Noble, Andrew Reinke, Sara Robbins, Linsey Rohe, Adam Steinbach, Wyatt Suddarth, Josh Wilson and Geoffrey Wright – was mentored by 37 professionals, faculty and others. The UNL engineers also earned awards in the various categories of the AEI contest, including a first place in electrical lighting design and runner-up in mechanical design.

Among the other achievements that were lauded:

* In the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) student competition, UNL became the first school to earn top-three finishes in three categories - first place in System Selection and Design Calculations; and third place in the Applied Engineering Challenge.

* Students Sean Poulicek and Nathan Ritta won the Howard Brandston Student Design Lighting Grant from the Illuminating Engineering Society (IES).

* The Architectural Engineering Student Leadership and Advisory Committee (AESLAC) was chosen as the UNO Student Organization of the Year for 2015.

* Faculty members David Yuill (ASHRAE Young Investigator Award) and Clarence Waters (AEI Outstanding Educator of the Year) earned prestigious honors.

Alvine Engineering and Bahr Vermeer Haecker (BVH) Architects were given the Alumni Project Award for work on the Burlington Rail and Commerce Building project.

Milena Palahanska-Mavrov – a mechanical engineer with Alvine, lead designer for the restoration, and a Master of Architectural Engineering (MAE) graduate – and Brandon Rich (MAE graduate) presented and accepted the award for Alvine. Alex Turner, an architect intern at BVH’s Omaha studio, presented and accepted the award for BVH. Jessica Hiatt, from IP Design and also a 2005 Master of Architectural Engineering graduate, was recognized for her acoustical consulting on the project.

The AE program also recognized the 2016 recipients of The Durham School Student and Faculty Awards:

* Outstanding Faculty Award – Dr. Mahmoud Alahmad

* MAE Industry Mentor Award – Aaron Wascher, Alvine Engineering

* Outstanding MAE Award – Jacob Pulfer

* Outstanding Alumni Award — Andy Yosten, HDR

Dr. Waters also recognized the 14 professionals who serve on the Architectural Engineering Industry Advisory Committee (AEIAC). Marissa Gigantelli, president of AESLAC, recapped the 3rd Annual Options Conference, at which 16 industry presenters outlined to current and prospective AE students the various career options in the field.

Those presenting at the conference were:

* Rodrigo Manriquez, Lighting Designer (SmithGroupJJR)

* Scott Pfeiffer, Acoustician (Threshold Acoustics)

* George Morrissey, Electrical Engineer (Morrissey Engineering Inc.)

* Dr. Ece Erdogmus, Professor and Researcher (UNL)

* David Peterson, Contractor (Miller Electric)

* Ryan Tushner, Commissioning Agent (ME Group)

* Guenther Dziuvenis, Controls (Johnson Controls)

* Chris Beaty, Controls (Johnson Controls)

* Steph Guy, Mechanical Engineer (Alvine Engineering)

* Darren Dageford, Director of Utilities (UNMC)

* Dakota Kelley, Energy Modeler (Telios)

* Todd Schackleford, BIM Manager (Alvine Engineering)

* Adam Christensen, Structures (Olsson Associates)

* Erick Showalter, Fire Protection (HDR)

* Jessica Hiatt, IP Design (IP Design Group)

* Pat Kelly, IP Design (IP Design Group)