Engineers Without Borders chapter earns two Student Impact Awards

Engineers Without Borders chapter earns two Student Impact Awards

Nebraska's Engineers Without Borders chapter earned two Student Impact Awards.

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln chapter of Engineers Without Borders (EWB) was honored with two Student Impact Awards - the Diversity and Inclusion Award and the Student Organization Philanthropy/Service Award - at a reception April 14 at the Nebraska East Union.

EWB, a Recognized Student Organization (RSO) in the College of Engineering, was also nominated in six other categories - including Program of the Year, Outstanding Commitment to Recruitment, and Outstanding Student Organization - and individual nominations for Laurel Wagner (Outstanding Student Organization Member), Uziel Ramos (Outstanding Student Organization Officer), Isabelle Koehler (Outstanding Student Organization President).

Elizabeth "Libby" Jones, Holling Family Distinguished Engineering Educator and professor of civil and environmental engineering, is the faculty advisor for ESB.

The Student Impact Awards, presented annually by the Office of Student Affairs' Student Leadership, Involvement and Community Engagement, celebrate the outstanding contributions to the university community by the more than 550 RSOs and their leaders. This year's nominees included 19 organizations and 23 individuals.