Shudipto Dishari

Shudipto Dishari

Contact Information:
OTHM 214
City Campus (Lincoln)
(402) 472-7537
Personal Links:
Nanomaterials Group

Assistant Professor
Academic Degrees
  • Ph.D. Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; National University of Singapore (2010)
  • B. S. in Chemical Engineering with Hons; Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (2005)
Current Job Openings
  • Post-doctoral scholar with prior expertise in organic polymer and/or oligomer synthesis (experience in synthesizing cyclic aromatics is preferred)
  • Graduate Students

Areas of Research and Professional Interest
  • polymers and nanomaterials
  • thin films and membranes
  • energy
  • chemobiorecognition
  • bioseparation
Courses Taught
  • CHME 323/823: Thermodynamics II
  • CHME 496/896-002: Functional Polymeric Materials and Applications

About Shudipto Dishari

Dr. Shudipto Konika Dishari is joining as an assistant professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at UNL (2016- ). She has been a post-doctoral researcher in the Chemical Engineering department at the Pennsylvania State University at Prof. Andrew Zydney’s group (2013-2015). She has also worked with Prof. Michael Hickner in Materials Science and Engineering at the same university (2010-2013). She graduated from National University of Singapore with a PhD in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (2010) and got her bachelor (B. S. in Chemical Engineering with Hons, 2005) from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology.

Throughout her multidisciplinary research career, she has developed a wide spectrum of research experience spanning from energy to biomedical applications. Her research interests include polymers and nanomaterials, thin films and membranes, energy, chemobiorecognition and bioseparation. Her research works on polymer thin films and fluorescence based biosensing have been highlighted as cover stories of ACS Macro Letters and Macromolecular Rapid Communications, respectively. Another piece of her work on virus filtration membrane has been featured as video highlight in the journal Biotechnology and Bioengineering.

In recognition of excellence in virus filtration membrane research for development in therapies and medical products, she has received “Baxter Young Investigator Award” conferred by Baxter Healthcare Corporation. She has served as an editor of “Post-doc journal”, editorial board member of “Journal of Materials Science Research”, session chair of “College of Engineering Research Symposium” at Penn State and reviewer of many internationally acclaimed journals.

Honors and Awards

NSF CAREER Award (2018)

Layman Award (2018)

Nebraska EPSCoR First Award (2017)

Baxter Young Investigator Award (2014)


NSF CAREER Award (2018-2023)

Layman Award (2018-2019)

Nasa Nebraska Space Grant (2017-2018)

Nebraska EPSCoR First Award (2017-2018)

Research Council Faculty Seed Grant (2017)